MEMORIAL DAY!

My hopes paid off! The Cubs did not have a terrible week; in fact they had a pretty darn good one in my opinion. The first night of the series vs. the Yankees the good ole Cubs took down Tanaka and bested the Yanks 6-1, which I found remarkable. Of course Jeff Samardzija has still yet to get a W. A Mets fan friend wrote on facebook that night “If I were Jeff Samardzija I would punch every single one of my teammates in the face.” My response to him was “…well yea” because honestly I might if I were he. He has done nothing but pitch inning after inning superbly and here we are Memorial Day and he has yet to get a win, alas, poor Jeff. Of course the following day the Cubbies lost, but they managed to take the game into the 13th inning and hold out losing until late in the afternoon so I can’t fault them for splitting the series to the 27 time world champions.

Following the Yanks series the Cubs headed to Cali, as I write this Jeff is pitching in the fourth inning and the Cubs are down vs. San Francisco, my boss will be thrilled as a Giants fan, Of course since I am currently dog sitting for her, she best not get too mouthy about the likelihood that the Giants will take the series. The Cubs did well against the Padres early this week, some great pitching by Wood and Hammel. Unfortunately the series still ended in a split. I’d also like to note the adorable moment when Junior Lake hit a homerun and didn’t know he had done so, much akin to the day he wore the wrong uniform, I dunno about anybody else but I like the guy. Here’s hoping for even better play up in San Fran over the next few days.

In other excellent news the Iowa Cubs now have Manny Ramirez on board the coaching staff thanks to Theo Epstein. Ramirez will be mentoring young hitting prospects, which is something the Cubs organization can definitely use the help with. As a whole the Cubs have come a long way with their hitting of late, but someone like Ramirez working in the trenches to get the youngster up to snuff may be just the ticket for the future.

As for today it’s the top of the 5th and the Cubs have tied it up. Dear lord please let Jeff get a win. And hey Happy Memorial Day, we wouldn’t have any baseball without those serving to protect our freedom, our freedom to play and love baseball may seem small in comparison to other things we should be grateful for, but we should be thankful non the less.

Leave a Reply

