Tampa & Sub Freezing Wind

The first week of 2015 baseball is coming to a close so I thought a review might be in order.
I spent Opening Day in Tampa. It was an interesting dynamic, being around so many old people that were grumpy that Joe Maddon works for the Cubs now. I was in Tampa, making TV and twice during my time wore Cubs gear, once the day I arrived and of course on Opening day. The day I arrived I came face to face with one of my co-workers, who I had previously only spoken to on the phone, who happens to be a huge Cardinals fan. I knew the week was destined to have some pranks as he and I awaited Opening day, unfortunately the biggest prank was that the Cardinals beat the Cubs day one.

Opening Day in Tampa was warm and sunny, however the cold stares and questioning glances of the elderly Rays fans permeated the warmth, apparently Tampa is very upset about Joe Maddon but their loss is our gain.

Watching the first loss of the season from an office inside a hockey arena was a new experience for me, watching a loss on Opening Day on the other hand, not such a shock considering in the last 15 openers the Cubs have won only 4 times. Despite the loss at least the Cubs made the papers the next morning,(as they say all press is good press) on account of the lack of available ermmmmm toilets. In fact I received an e-mail from the organization, which thanked me for my continued support and also apologized for the lack of restrooms. Hopefully I won’t have to pee in a plastic beer cup when I’m there in May, but since only one of the four open restrooms was a ladies room, I’m not holding my breath.

Tuesday I returned to the hockey arena for another day of work and anxiously awaited game 2, during which I knew the Cubs would crush the Cardinals, only to find out halfway through the day that the game was being postponed due to rain and “sub freezing wind speeds.” Having been at Wrigley in early April I certainly can’t say the weather is unexpected but it was a bit of a downer considering the long arduous winter and how eagerly I’ve been anticipating baseball this year. On Wednesday my plane landed in Newark just in time to listen to the radio broadcast of Jake Arrrieta’s 7 scoreless innings, taking the W with hitting help from Starlin Castro.

I had been thinking that Opening Day would set the tone for the season, and after the loss was really nervous about that idea, but now I’m thinking maybe the Opening series will set the tone. I think we all expect a lot from the Cubs this year, considering the prophecy of Back to the Future II, Maddon, the incredible group of young players, Theo Epstein and the Wrigley renovations, but I also think most are expecting a hard fought battle between two incredible rivals in the mid west. I still think the Cubs will make it this year, but I never said it would be an easy road. Time and time again the Cubs will be at odds with their rivals to the South and the NL Central division title will be within reach of both teams, this all may come down to how they play against each other all season long. As I write this both team sit at 1-2, that postponed game could be the missing prophecy and I can’t wait for it to be rescheduled.

*Now for a shameless plug! Don’t forget, message me if you want tickets or check out stubhub section 416 row 7 seats 3 & 4

Leave a Reply

