2015 was spectacular…lets do it again next year

Baseball season is officially over. It’s been over for Cubs fans for a little while now but I was too traumatized to write about it until now. I did however take a few notes…

The night of October 20th after a crushing Cubs loss in Chicago, my best friend, a lifelong Red Sox fan texted me with a  reminder to “keep the faith” and to think back to 2004 when the Red Sox overcame three losses to the Yankees and eventually went on to win the World Series. Oh had things only turned out that way for our 2015 Cubs. At 4:30am Eastern time on Back to the Future Day, that is October 21st, 2015, I took a rather concerning cab ride to Newark airport. The rickety minivan was captained by an elderly Russian; at least I assumed he was Russian because his accent led me to believe he once lent his voice in a Rocky and Bullwinkle cartoon. I cannot express how much noise this van made, it was an endless squeaking. Upon arriving at the airport Boris had to let me out of the car because much to my dismay there was no inside door handle, can anyone say buffalo bill? As usual the TSA at Newark was grumpy and useless but the line was short and my plane was at the gate, which is in fact the only reason there is to wake up for a 6am flight, the plane will never be late coming in from its previous trip. I arrived at Midway around 7:30 and took a cab to my friend’s apartment in Wrigleyville. Even at 8am Chicago was vibrating, especially when I got to Wrigleyville. My friend and I went for coffee, where we were given extra shots of espresso because of dutifully wearing Cubs gear. Hours later we hit the bars and then eventually made our way to my section. As soon as the back to back home runs were hit I knew what we were in for. It was as depressing as you can imagine to sit there the entire game already knowing the outcome. When the Cubs scored in the 8th I gave in to a slight glimmer of hope, thinking that surely they could get a 5 run 9th inning and ensure extra innings. Obviously that flicker of hope was quickly snuffed out. To be in Wrigley the night the Mets clinched the Cubs in a sweep was emotionally draining. Ultimately the Cubs lost the first two games of the NLCS series to the Mets and they lost the second two games to themselves. It was a typical Cub move, but it just made everything seem so anticlimactic, to go out like that on Back to the Future Day after such an inspiring second half of the season was more than just a little bit disheartening.

It’s been a couple weeks now and the Royals won the World Series last night, so while I’m not over it; I’m willing to look at the bright side. The Cubs had an amazing year; I went to a playoff game at Wrigley Field, that’s been on the bucket list since I was 4 years old. The young team that has been assembled is inspiring and God willing will go the distance some time very soon. There is work to do in the off season, but not nearly as much as there has been in the past. The Cubs will come back in 2016 with a little more experience, hopefully an extra starting pitcher or two and a vengeance. As always I cannot wait until spring. See you soon Cubs fans!

Leave a Reply

